Treatments & Diagnosis
Full guide to the services we offer
Our Experts
Meet our staff
Book an Appointment
Use our booking system
Contact the Spa
Address and directions
Brochure & Price List
Download the brochure
In the Press
Lotus in the Press

Great Elements and Doshas

Great Elements and Doshas
The Great Elements
Ayurvedic philosophy believes that everything in the universe is made up of a combination of 5 "great" elements:- Akaasa (Ether/Space/Sky), Vaayu (air), Tejas (fire), Ap (water) and Prithvi (earth). Ayurveda defines a human as the assemblage of the five great elements plus the "immaterial self".

The Doshas
In Ayurveda, the five elements combine in pairs to form the three dynamic forces, or 'Doshas' ('that which changes'). The three 'Doshas' are as follows;
  • Vata (Air + Ether)
  • Pitta (Fire + Water)
  • Kapha (Water + Earth)
All bodily processes are believed to be governed by a balance of the 3 Doshas. Whichever Dosha or Doshas appear to dominate a person's behavior and physique are called that persons 'constitution type' and each constitution type has particular strengths and susceptibilities. The three Doshas are constantly moving in dynamic balance, when one falls ill, it is because the natural balance of these elements in the body have become disturbed. The ability to affect the Doshas is the underlying basis for Ayurvedic practices and therapies

"A balanced Tri-Dosha means a healthy person."